## I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

**Executive Committee Resolution No. 56** 

Introduced by:

James V. Espaldon
A. R. Unpingco

Mark Forbes
Frank F. Blas, Jr.
Edward J.B. Calvo
Judith Paulette Guthertz
Frank T. Ishizaki
J. A. Lujan
Tina Rose Muña Barnes
A. B. Palacios, Sr.
v. c. pangelinan
R. J. Respicio
D. L.G. Shimizu
Ray Tenorio
J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating the Batangas and Southern Tagalog Association (BASTA) on its "Thirtieth (30<sup>th</sup>) Anniversary" commemoration and "Induction Ball Celebration" and to thanking the Association for its contributions to Guam and the "Old Country" of the Philippines and to congratulating its Incoming Officers and Board Members.

## BE IT RESOLVED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I

## 2 MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

- 3 WHEREAS, the Batangas and Southern Tagalog Association (BASTA),
- 4 Guam Chapter, originally the Batangas Association, was formally chartered
- 5 on July 16, 1977 by founding fathers Eddie Espina, Rey Gonzalves, Marcy

- 1 Manipol and Ronnie Saludo at a meeting at the ITC Building in Tamuning;
- 2 and
- 3 WHEREAS, the Association soon embraced a spirit of community
- 4 engagement and inclusion by incorporating the Southern Tagalog Association
- 5 to accommodate members from the Southern Tagalog provinces; and
- 6 WHEREAS, BASTA now boasts a membership of over two hundred
- 7 (200) members, natives of area twelve (12) Provinces, including the mainland
- 8 provinces of Cavite, Laguna, Rizal, Marinduque, Aurora, Quezon, Mindoro,
- 9 and Palawan, and island provinces of Mindoro Occidental, Mindoro Oriental,
- 10 Marinduque, and Romblon; and
- 11 WHEREAS, BASTA'S home provinces passes notoriety historical
- 12 heritages and are home to such heroes as Jose Rizal of Laguna; Emilio
- 13 Aguinaldo of Cavite; Apolinario Mabini Felipe and Marcela Agoncillo, Miguel
- 14 Malvar, Gliceria Marella, Galicano Apacible, Sotero Laurel, and Jose P. Laurel
- all of Batangas; Manuel L. Quezon and Claro M. Recto of Quezon; and from a
- 16 more recent time, the illustrious leaders Eulogio Rodriquez of Rizal, Lorenzo
- 17 Tomada of Quezon and Jose Diokno of Batangas, who paved the way for
- 18 Filipino liberty; and
- 19 WHEREAS, through the years, BASTA has contributed to a variety of
- 20 worthy causes on Guam such as: Lytico & Bodig, the American Red Cross,
- 21 Catholic Social Services, Make-A-Wish Foundation, Alee Shelter, and the
- 22 American Cancer Society, among others; and
- 23 WHEREAS, due to its benevolence towards the old country, the
- 24 association has contributed generously to victims of calamities through the

- 1 Philippine Earthquake Relief Fund, Mt. Pinatubo Relief efforts and assisted
- 2 typhoon and lahar victims; and
- WHEREAS, the Association combines the Mabuhay spirit with Hafa
- 4 Adai warmth to island residents and visitors alike, whether they be visiting
- 5 basketball players, models, actors and actresses, government officials or
- 6 politicians; and
- WHEREAS, BASTA has maintain the Mabini Historical Marker at Asan
- 8 Point, hosted a Walkathon at Ypao Beach, and spread holiday cheer during
- 9 the Christmas season by offering hearty carols in Guam's villages; and
- 10 WHEREAS, BASTA members contribute to Guam as capitalists and
- 11 entrepreneurs generating jobs and assisting Guam's economic growth, and
- 12 ensuring a workforce of bright and skilled persons fill our professional ranks
- 13 as educators, nurses, engineers, architects, bankers and other professionals;
- 14 now, therefore, be it
- 15 **RESOLVED,** that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na
- 16 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 17 people of Guam, join in congratulating the Batangas & Southern Tagalog
- 18 Association (BASTA) on its "Thirtieth (30th) Anniversary" commemoration
- 19 and "Induction Ball Celebration"; and be it further
- 20 **RESOLVED**, that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na
- 21 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 22 people of Guam, commend and thank the Association's outgoing Officers and
- 23 Board Members of BASTA for their many contributions to Guam and the "Old
- 24 Country" of the Philippines; and be it further
- 25 **RESOLVED,** that the Executive Committee of I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na

- 1 Liheslaturan Guåhan does hereby, on behalf of I Liheslaturan Guåhan and the
- 2 people of Guam, congratulate the Association's incoming officers and Board
- 3 Members for the 2007 term which include: Ms. Marie Cummings, President;
- 4 Mr. Lito Deras, Vice President; Ms. Portia Rimpos, Recording Secretary; Ms.
- 5 Ella Amistad, Corresponding Secretary; Mr. Jorge Maranan, Treasurer; Ms.
- 6 Nila Orario, Assistant Treasurer; Ms. Noemi Biscocho, Business Manager; Ms.
- 7 Marilyn Tablante, Public Relations Officer; Ms. Virgie Orario, Auditor; Mr.
- 8 Jun Mattson, Peace Officers and Mr. Cres Ramos, Ms. Violet Noche, Mr. Ed
- 9 Briopn, Ms. Mila Biscocho, Ms. Veronica Gutierrez, Ms. Gloria Del Rosario,
- 10 Ms. Marilyn Celira, Mr. Alex Manipol, Ms. Virgie Mattson and Ms. Joy
- 11 Funtanilla, Board Members; and be it further
- 12 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairman of the Executive
- 13 Committee certify, and the Secretary of the Legislature attest to, the adoption
- 14 hereof, and that copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to Mr. Maria
- 15 Cummings, President of the Batangas and Southern Tagalog Association; to
- 16 Mr. Roger Andulan, outgoing President; and to the Honorable Felix P.
- 17 Camacho, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE  $16^{TH}$  DAY OF MARCH 2007.

MARK FORBES

Speaker and

Chairman, Executive Committee

RAY TENORIO
Senator and

Secretary of the Legislature